Study Abroad & Exchange

The Student Exchange Program is designed to enable students to enrich their personal and academic experience for those coming to study at the School of Architecture and Design as well as those going to study at other universities. Partnerships between SoA+D and other universities in various countries have been established creating a network of diverse ideas and cultures. 

The School of Architecture and Design at King Mongkut’s University of Technology Thonburi provides a unique opportunity for students with its international program taught in English, its range of design departments within the school, and its location in Bangkok, the capital city.

Our undergraduate program is comprised of Architecture, Interior Architecture, Industrial Design, and Communication Design department. While our graduate programs consist of the Building Technology and the Human-centered Design department. Therefore, this creates an environment that is conducive for interdisciplinary learning. Moreover, each department offers opportunities for students to understand and to engage in the local culture by including workshops, field trips, academic activities and special lectures as part of its curriculum. While the more indigenous culture of Thailand can be experienced in the rural areas of the country, students will experience a distinct urban culture that is a hybrid of traditional values and global influences with the school’s location in Bangkok.

Exchange student

Due to the difference in the academic year in Thailand, students from abroad should plan carefully when they will be joining the semester at the School of Architecture and Design. The first semester starts at the beginning of June and ends at the beginning of October. While the second semester is from the end of October to the beginning of March. Dates may vary slightly from one year to the next.

Applications for a visa to study at the School of Architecture and Design should be submitted to the Thai embassy in the student’s respective country. Upon approval, the student will be granted a Student Visa for a period of a limited stay.

Our partner universities are :


  • Zaman University


  • DeTao Masters Academy (DTMA)


  • ENSCI-Les Ateliers


  • Hochschule für Technik Stuttgart University of Applied Sciences
  • Coburg University
  • Hochschele Wismar-University of Technology
  • TU Braunschweig


  • ANSAL University
  • National Institute of India


  • Kobe University
  • Kanagawa University
  • Kyoto Institute of Technology
  • Shibaura Institute of Technology
  • Tokai University


  • Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology


  • Souphanouvong University


  • Dasein Academy of Art


  • Bicol State College of Applied Sciences and Technology
  • Far East University
  • De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, School of Design and Arts


  • Univesity of Algarve


  • Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts


  • College of Design / National Teipei University of Technology
  • Ming Chuan University
  • Ming Chi University of Technology
  • National Taiwan University of Technology (NTUT)
  • Tatung University

For more information, please contact Ms. Thitikarn Sritranon (email :

For Documents

SoA+D Inbound Application form

Inbound Exchange Program

Outbound Exchange Program

International Exchange Program

INBOUND Student Exchange Program

Lab Internship Program

Social Volunteer Camp Program


Back to top